We've got news for you.

Register on SowetanLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Last three Afcon winners

Nkareng Matshe takes us through the last three winners of Afcon. It is always appropriate to give the respect due to previous title holders in any tournament, and with Afcon kicking-off this evening, the timing is just right.

2013: Nigeria

The Super Eagles had a dramatic run in South Africa two years ago. Many expected them not to go past favourites Ivory Coast in the quarterfinal but once they stunned the Elephants, they were unstoppable.

A lone Ahmed Musa goal at a packed FNB Stadium secured Stephen Keshi's men the title for the first time since 1994, making Keshi only the second man in history to win the Afcon as player and coach.

2012: Zambia

It was an emotional return to Gabon for the Chipolopolo, who lost an entire squad there due to an air disaster in 1993.

Having vowed to win the tournament in honour of their fallen heroes after visiting the crash site, Zambia did exactly that - beating Ivory Coast in a marathon penalty shoot-out.

2010: Egypt

Egypt secured their third successive Afcon by beating a young Ghana side in the final. The tournament in Angola is unfortunately not remembered for the Pharaohs' historic achievement, rather the tragedy which saw a bus transporting Togo players to the event shot at. Three people were killed.

Gedo's goal five minutes before the end brought cheers to Egypt in a largely lacklustre final.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.