We've got news for you.

Register on SowetanLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Stages 6 to 8 load-shedding: What it means and how it affects you

Eskom has started planning for stages 7 and 8 load-shedding.
Eskom has started planning for stages 7 and 8 load-shedding.
Image: Eskom

Eskom implemented stage 6 load-shedding for the first time on Monday and has announced that it has started planning for stages 7 and 8.

What does this mean and how does it affect you?

Stage 6 

SA has never experienced anything higher than stage 4 load-shedding, with stages 6 and 7 indicating that Eskom will shed 6,000MW and 7,000MW respectively.

Stage 6 doubles the frequency of stage 3 and, according to Eskom, this means load- shedding will be scheduled over four-day periods for four hours at a time.

LISTEN | ENERGY EXPERT - Prepare to start producing your own power

Stage 8

Should Eskom escalate load-shedding to stage 8, SA residents will be without power up to six times a day or 12 hours, depending on the day’s schedule. This stage will shed 8,000MW from the grid.

Stage 8 doubles the frequency of stage 4.

'Controlled way'

According to Eskom, load-shedding is a controlled way to make sure the national power grid remains stable.

“The higher the load-shedding stage, the more frequent you will experiencing load-shedding.

“The higher the stage, the greater the number of customers who will be affected across the country.

“Generally, load-shedding in stage 8 will result in customers having electricity for 50% of the day.”

NB: On Tuesday, Eskom downgraded load-shedding from stage 6 to stage 4.

Politicians weigh in

Taking to social media, politicians had much to say about the situation.

Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.