Khoza returns unopposed

Sello Rabothata and Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Sello Rabothata and Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Premier Soccer League chairman and Orlando Pirates boss, Irvin Khoza, will be returned to power unopposed at the body's biennial general meeting on November 8.

The list of nominees for the league's executive committee was released yesterday by PSL's chief executive Kjetil Siemt.

Khoza returns unopposed as chairman while the rest of the nominations are: Goolam Allie of Santos; Ikie Augousti of Bloemfontein Celtic; John Comitis of Ajax Cape Town; Mato Madlala of Lamontville Golden Arrows; Stan Matthews of Supersport United; Mike Mokoena of Free State Stars; Kaizer Motaung of Kaizer Chiefs; Leon Prins of Moroka Swallows; David Thidiela of Black Leopards; Patrick Sokhela of AmaZulu and Jomo Sono of Jomo Cosmos.

Mamelodi Sundowns president Patrice Motsepe earlier stated that he had been approached to stand for the chairmanship but had declined for the sake of continuity as he endorsed Khoza's leadership for yet another term.

Anastacia Tsichlas, also a former Sundowns boss, dropped a bombshell this week when she announced that she will not be available for re-election. The outspoken Tsichlas will be solely missed.

Sono is said to have been nominated by the majority of the National First Division teams who want him to be their voice.

Sono is known for his outspokenness and is seen by many clubs as the right person to represent them in the committee where their aspirations are sometimes neglected in favour of those in the elite league.

Sono will fight it out with Leopards' Thidiela who was elected into the committee while his Lidoda Duvha were still campaigning in top flight football.

Leopards and Ezenkosi were relegated to the lower league at the end of last season.