Wayde van Niekerk biggest winner at SA Sports Awards

Wayde van Niekerk was the biggest winner at the SA Sports  Awards after winning the Sportsman of the year and the Sports Star of the Year in Bloemfontein on Sunday night.

Van Niekerk had a dream year after winning gold and breaking American sprint legend Michael Johnson's world record in Brazil in July.

The full list of nominees for the 2016 Sports Awards is:

Sport Star of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

Sportswoman of the Year

Caster Semenya

Sportsman of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

People’s Choice Award

Wayde van Niekerk

Team of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns

Coach of the Year

Anna Botha

Newcomer of the Year Award

Ntando Mahlangu

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability

Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year with Disability

Charl du Toit

Photographer of the Year

Sydney Mahlangu

Journalist of the Year

Thabiso Sithole

School Team of the Year

St Benedict’s – Rowing

Recreation Body of the Year

Egoli Squash

Indigenous Games Team of the Year

North West Khokho

 - TMG Digital



Would you like to comment on this article or view other readers' comments? Register (it’s quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.