ANC hangs on to 5 wards

THE ANC has lost one ward in by-elections that took place on Wednesday. It, however, hung on to five of the 10 wards that were being contested across the country.

In Thembisa, Ekurhuleni, Thando Mgaweni of Cope won Phomolong (Ward 12), taking over from Alfred Sepirwa of the ANC.

"Sepirwa had resigned as a councillor to take a directorship position in the metro," said local ANC spokesperson Prince Hamnca.

But many community members in Phomolong believe that Sepirwa left as a result of growing dissatisfaction in the community about his performance. "If that was the case then councillors would resign everyday," said Hamnca.

The rest of Gauteng saw three other by-elections.

Thokozani Amos Mncube of the ANC won Ward 13 in Westonaria.

Kevin Patrick Wax of the DA took Ward 18 in the City of Johannesburg, and Gaborutwe Rachel Malahlela of the ANC won Ward 76 in the Tshwane Metro.

The IEC said that voter turnout varied between three percent and 58 percent, with an average of 24 percent.

In the Eastern Cape, the new Ward 8 councillor at the King Sabata Dalindyebo in Mthatha is Tula Edgar Mapekula of the ANC.

In KwaZulu-Natal, Bradley Singh of the Minority Front won Ward 52 in the eThekwini Metro, and Frederick Masikane of the IFP won Ward 11 in Umvoti, Greytown.

New councillors in Limpopo, Northern Cape and the Western Cape respectively are: Jauma Ananius Mogoasa of the ANC in Ward 8 in Lephalale, Ellisras; Elizabeth Olyn of the ANC in Ward 12 in Khara Hais, Upington; and Dirk Swart of the DA in Ward 5 in Witzenberg; Ceres.

The ANC said it was satisfied with the results. "We are concerned about the creeping complacency in some of our structures, particularly when looking at the loss of a ward to Cope," said spokesperson Brian Sokutu.