Chiefs snub CAF LURE

KAIZER Chiefs have declined an offer to take part in the Confederation Cup.

KAIZER Chiefs have declined an offer to take part in the Confederation Cup.

This despite the competition carrying $300000 (R2,2million) and $200000 (R1,48million) for the runner-up.

Amakhosi would have also received an allowance of R1million from the Premier Soccer League to compete in the tournament.

The Soweto glamour boys qualified for the continental event after finishing third on the Absa Premiership last season.

Their decision not to compete means that South Africa will have only three teams in the 2010 Confederation of African Football (CAF) club competition.

The teams are SuperSport United, Orlando Pirates and Moroka Swallows, who will play in the Cup by virtue of being the Nedbank Cup winners last season.

Matsatsantsa a Pitori and Pirates will take part in the African Champions League, which has been dominated by north African clubs. The three teams will also receive a R1million allowance from the league. CAF provides for member countries to be represented by four teams: two in the Champions League and two in the Confederation Cup.

The deadline for clubs to confirm their participation was Monday.

PSL chief of operations Ronnie Schloss said: "SuperSport United, Orlando Pirates and Moroka Swallows are the only teams that will participate in CAF club competitions from the league.

"We had a fourth slot, which is for a club that finishes third in the league. We spoke to Kaizer Chiefs, they informed us that they are not participating."

Chiefs said they will not take part in the tournament. Club manager Bobby Motaung said: "We are not going there because of logistical reasons and nothing else. We were informed that it is not compulsory to take part and that is why we did not even consider participating."

Chiefs won this tournament when it was still known as the Mandela Cup in 2000. Pirates are the only southern African club to win the African Champions League, in 1995.

The winners of the Champions League will get $1,5million (R7,38million).

The losing finalists will take home $1million, while the semifinalists will each receive $700000, the third side in each group $500000.