Development takes pride of place

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Thirty clubs will take part in the University Sport South Africa Football national club championships in Durban, starting today.

The tournament taking place at the University of KwaZulu-Natal's Howard College sports grounds ends on Friday.

The University Sport South Africa replaced the South African Student Sport Union as organisers.

Matsobane Laka, the body's football chairman, said the games will be used to select national women's and men's teams for participation in various competitions.

"This is one of the biggest development soccer competitions in South Africa and always attracts top talent scouts.

"It has produced some of South Africa's best players including Sibusiso Zuma, Patrick Malokase, Steve Tlou, Douglas Williams, Nandipha Mlomo and Khabo Zitha."

Others are Collins Chabalala, Fees Moloi, Simba Marumo, Ditheko Mototo and Delisile Mbatha.

The organisation has not only developed players, administrators like Floyd "Jomo" Mbele, Zipho Dlangalala and Nomsa Mahlangu come from the same body.

Cosmos Hlatshwayo, a member of the football executive committee, said the competition has become popular. "We have been inundated with enquiries from development coaches who want to attend," he said.

Participating clubs are University of KwaZulu-Natal Howard College, University of Pretoria; University of Johannesburg, Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) Soshanguve; Walter Sisulu University Ibika; Fort Hare, University of Western Cape, TUT Emalahleni, University of Zululand; Durban University of Technology (DUT) Midlands, DUT Durban; Walter Sisulu Berlin; Free State University; University of Limpopo, Northlink College ; Central University of Technology, University of Venda; TUT Pretoria, Cape Town University of Technology and Walter Sisulu Umtata.

Vaal University of Technology are the defending Champions in the women's section and University of Johannesburg men's category.