Hoskins lauds Boks

Meshack Khotha

Meshack Khotha

South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins has complimented the Springboks on winning the prestigious Laureus team of the year award.

The IRB Rugby World Cup champions clinched the Laureus World Team of the Year award at the ninth yearly awards function held in St Petersburg, Russia on Monday.

Receiving the award on behalf of the team were former coach Jake White and five players including Bryan Habana, Schalk Burger, Percy Montgomery, Bakkies Botha and Butch James.

Hoskins said the Springboks' latest achievement had made Saru truly proud and added that the team had left behind a lasting legacy.

In his tribute to the world champions, Hoskins remarked: "It is an incredible feat for any team to be voted the best in the world.

"Such an achievement should serve as an inspiration not only to rugby players, administrators and supporters, but to all South Africans.

"I want to congratulate the players, coaches and team management as well as all the other important role players who contributed so much to an unforgettable 2007 season."