Eskom gives its power-crisis team executive status

Robert Laing

Robert Laing

Eskom has upgraded its recently formed power-crisis team into a " executive management structure".

The power-crisis team was divided into six "streams" and their leaders have been appointed to the new executive management structure headed by Eskom's chief executive, Jacob Maroga.

The power-crisis team's overall leader, Erica Johnson, heads a stream called "planning and risk management". Johnson's priority is to bring the coal stockpiles of all power stations to 20 days of acceptable quality fuel.

Brian Dames heads the power-crisis team's "plant performance" stream. His task is to nurse existing power stations while building new ones.

Eskom has been slammed for keeping people in the dark not only with its load shedding but also about news on blackouts.

One of the power-crisis team's aims is to improve communication and the corresponding stream is called "confidence building and communication", headed by Johnny Dladla.

The communications team includes Andrew Etzinger, Eskom's general manager of resources and investment strategies.

Eskom is in the process of renegotiating supply contracts. Ayanda Noah and Mongezi Ntsokolo have been appointed to the new management structure to oversee this stream.

Ehud Matya will head a stream called "power buy-back" to encourage South Africans to consume less electricity.

Eskom appears to be having an energy crisis with its people as much as it is with wet coal.

The power utility has made "employee morale" one of its power-crisis team's six streams, which will be headed Mpho Letlape.