TV celebrities will charm community builders

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Television personalities Carol Bouwer, Michael Mol, Dingaan Mokebe, Ntokozo Mbuli, Mapaseka Makoti and Patrick Shai will add sparkle to the yearly Community Builder of the Year Awards.

The celebrities will drive the much-awaited awards gala at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on December 6 at 7pm.

Bouwer, who made a name for herself as an actress on the SABC1 soapie Generations, will compere with Mol, who presents Top Billing on SABC3.

Bouwer is also chief executive of CB Productions, who produce Motswako, the women's development and empowerment issues show, on SABC1 every Monday evening.

Mokebe, who stars on SABC2's Muvhango, is the celebrity ambassador of the competition's youth section.

Veterans Makoti and Shai will present the adult and seniors categories respectively, while Mbuli, a presenter of the SABC2 nature conservation special 50-50, is the group category's celebrity patron.

The awards are now in their 17th year and are sponsored and organised by SABC, Old Mutual, Sowetan and the Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building Foundation. The 2007 finalists are:

l Senior category - Leah Dlomo of Limpopo, Maria Manoto of Gauteng and Maria Farmer of Northern Cape.

l Adult category - Noriah Mabunda of Limpopo, Sabina Khoza of Gauteng and Tlalane Mofokeng of Free State.

l Youth category - Stuart Nhlathi of North West, Mafemani Mabunda of Limpopo and Mthokozi Mchunu of KwaZulu-Natal.

l Group category - Motsilu Boima of Limpopo, Adrina Ramonotshi of Free State and Nosibongile Jobela of Eastern Cape.