Doing right by our profusion of esteemed writers

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

South Africa values its heritage and proof of this is the South African Literary Awards, which were inaugurated in 2005.

The awards pay tribute to writers who have had distinguished, lifetime careers as ground-breaking producers and creators of literature.

The awards (Sala) are the brainchild of arts, culture and events strategists, wRrite Associates, and the national Arts and Culture Department.

Sowetan sponsors the literary journalism - print - award while the SABC supports the literary journalism - radio and television component - of the awards.

Keorapetse Kgositsile won the SA National Poet Laureate Prize last year.

Peter Abrahams, Ronnie Govender, Don Mattera, Karel Schoeman, Andre Brink, Lewis Nkosi, Lauretta Ngcobo, Ephraim Lesoro, Phyllis Naidoo and DBZ Ntuli were honoured with the Literary Lifetime Achievement Awards. Posthumous Literary Awards were awarded to James Moiloa, Ingoapele Madingoane and Toek Blignaut.

Submissions are being invited for the Nadine Gordimer Short Story Awards in South African Languages, the K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Awards for Young Writers, Literal Lifetime Achievements Awards, Best Radio Television Short Story Awards, the Sowetan Literary Journalism Award and the Literary Posthumous Awards. Submissions should be posted to P O Box 4488, Randburg 2125 or hand delivered to 74 Mimosa Road, Randpark Ridge, Johannesburg.