Maftown honours its heroes and heroines for putting the sleepy town on the map

JUBILANT: Andrew Molefe, who was honoured with a Maftown golden Stars award, and MC Rantebeng Makapan. 26/09/07. © Sowetan.
JUBILANT: Andrew Molefe, who was honoured with a Maftown golden Stars award, and MC Rantebeng Makapan. 26/09/07. © Sowetan.

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

Luminaries who have excelled in their careers were honoured at the inaugural Maftown Golden Stars Awards held at the Mmabana Convention Centre.

Among those honoured at the event which started on Friday and ended on Sunday included Sowetan's specialist writer, Andrew Molefe, veteran journalist John Qwelane and the late Solomon Plaatjie, the first ANC secretary general, author and pioneering black newspaper editor.

But the awards ceremony did not go without glitches. The event started two hours late and some of those honoured failed to attend the event.

But entertainment was galore.

Leading DJs, including Cue, Aldrin Segale Mogotsi, Phat K, Glen Lewis, Buddy Luv, HK, Mr O of Ya Rona FM, Eazy e, and DJ Flava entertained the crowd on Friday.

The after-party, which was held on Saturday, also featured an impressive DJ line-up - Cando, Beast, MC Dee of Ya Rona FM, Dizmoe, Motsweding FM's D Mos, Oskido, Positive K, KB Molopyane of Motsweding FM, Papa and Mr O of Yarona FM.

The event closed with a festival at Letlamoreng Dam on Sunday. Top local artists HHP, Morafe, Tuks and Mo Molemi performed at the festival.

Those who scooped the awards were:

Former radio presenter Thuli Moagi,

Sylvester "City" Kole, former Kaizer Chiefs defender,

Motsweding FM's presenter and sports commentator, Cebo Manyaapelo,

Head of SABC's commercial radio, Bob Mabena,

Metro FM's presenter and DJ, Glen Lewis,

Kaya FM's presenter Lawrence Dube,

Former radio and TV anchor, and now 2010 Local Organising Committee spokesman, Tim Modise,

Winner of the 2001 Comrades Marathon, Andrew Kelehe,

Oscar Award-winner, Presley Chweneyagae,

Academic and former Safa vice president, Professor Lesole Gadinabokao,

Academic and former vice-chancellor of North West University Professor Takatso Mofokeng,

Traditional SeTswana music singer, Johnny Mokhali,

R&B singer and actress Keabetswe KB Motilenyane-Pinana,

Journalist and SABC Morning Live Economic News anchor, Morafe Tabane, morning edition anchor and former radio presenter, Nothemba Madumo,

Sunday Times showbiz journalist Lesley Mofokeng,

Hip-hop star and Sama award winner, Tumelo "Tuks Senganga" Kepadisa,

Motswako hip-hop star and 2007 Strictly Come Dancing champion Jabulani "HHP" Tsambo,

Former SA ballroom champion, Tebogo Kgobokoe,

Former SA and world champ dancer, and Strictly Come Dancing judge, Salome Sechele,

Dancing adjudicator and Strictly Come Dancing judge Lilian Phororo,

SABC presenterBrown Matsime,

SABC music programme presenter Bonang Matheba,

Writer, poet and traditional practitioner, Dr Credo Mutwa,

Justice Yvonne Mokgoro, the first black female Constitutional Court judge,

Actor and Bongo Muffin lead singer, Tshepo "Stoan" Seate, and

Former radio and TV presenter, comedian and DJ "Phat Joe" Khambule.

Would you like to comment on this article or view other readers' comments? Register (it’s quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.