Loyiso laughs all the way

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

Young funny man Loyiso Gola was one of the winners of the first South African Comedy Awards held in Cape Town this week.

The young comedian collected the best breakthrough award on Monday for his show, Loyiso Gola for President,.

He joined other top comedic talent, including John Vlismas (Best Stand Up of the Year), Jonathan Shapiro "Zapiro" (Outstanding Humorous Cartoonist) and Pieter-Dirk Uys (Outstanding Contribution to SA Comedy), who were rewarded at the function for their efforts.

The SA Comedy Awards are the first that recognise the talents of comedians, playwrights, journalists and others and acknowledge the cultural contribution made by the country's funniest men and women across the spectrum.

This is for contributions in print and broadcast media.

Pieter-Dirk Uys received a standing ovation when he was given a lifetime achievement award for the most outstanding contribution to South African comedy.

The chief executive of the SA Comedy Awards, Sam Hendrikse, said it was the first time in South Africa's history that talented comedic performers and creative artists were being acknowledged.

"In a very real way, laughter unifies a country and we are delighted to honour those who make their contribution to nation-building through laughter," said Hendrikse.

All the winners:

l Best SA Television Comedy:

Stokvel - Outstanding Funny TV Commercial:

Client Agency

Musica "Little Britain" The Jupiter Drawing Room, Cape Town

l Best Comedic Play:

Shirley, Goodness and Mercy.

l Best One Person Show:

Lindiwe Matshikiza for Bafana Republic.

Best Breakthrough Act:

Loyiso Gola for Loyiso Gola for President.

Best Stand Up of the Year:

John Vlismas.

Outstanding Humorous Columnist:

Marianne Thamm, Fairlady.

Outstanding Humorous Cartoonist:

Jonathan Shapiro, Zapiro

Outstanding International Comedy:


Outstanding Contribution to South African Comedy:

Pieter-Dirk Uys