'Mbeki nowhere and JZ president'

Eric Naki

Eric Naki

The ANC Youth League (ANCYL) has excluded President Thabo Mbeki from its latest election list and nominated Jacob Zuma as president.

The ANCYL announced its top six leadership positions-list at a media briefing at Luthuli House, the ANC headquarters, yesterday. League president Fikile Mbalula said Zuma was their preferred candidate for both the president of the ANC and the country.

Other leadership candidates are current ANC general secretary Kgalema Motlanthe for deputy president; Foreign Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma for national chairman; SACP president Gwede Mantashe for secretary-general; national assembly Speaker Baleka Mbete for deputy general secretary and Mathews Phosa as treasurer- general.

Mbeki and current national chairman Mosiuoa Lekota, deputy general secretary Sankie Mahanyele and treasurer-general Mendi Msimang are not to be found on the list.

The league has been opposed to Mbeki for an extended period. Lekota recently offended Zuma's supporters when he criticised their hero for singing his Umshini wami signature song, while Msimang is the husband of Health Minister Manto Tshabalala-Msimang, who the league, Cosatu, SACP and their leftist allies have criticised over her handling of the HIV-Aids policy.

Mbalula said the ANC must elect a leadership with a good track record in the movement. He added that all of the league's preferred candidates do possess that characteristic. He also said the leadership elections have to consider questions of geographic spread, gender balance, and the accommodation of youth and trade union-worker leaders.