sfsfsdfsdfrwerwerfsdfsdf eeweqweqwedfdf

Book: Fools and Other Stories

Book: Fools and Other Stories

Author: Njabulo Ndebele

Publisher: Pan MacMillan

Reviewer: Zenoyise Madikwa

Fools and Other Storiesis a collection of five stories that analyse the struggle for survival and human rights during the apartheid era.

Njabulo Ndebele crafts his characters to reflect a true township lifestyle and the difficulties black South Africans faced simply to survive.

These stories go behind-the-scenes to show the devastating effects of apartheid on the oppressors as well as the oppressed.

All five stories - The Test, The Prophetess, Uncle, The Music of The Violin and Fools - are set in the township of Charterston, which is based on the township where the author grew up.

Fools and Other Stories is a very enjoyable read. Those who love poetic phrases will be delighted by the way the writer plays with words. The book will also appeal to anybody who loves township life. So be warned, once you start reading this book, it's almost impossible to put down.