We've got news for you.

Register on SowetanLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Isibaya leads SAFTAs soap nominations

The nominees for the 2014 SAFTA awards were announced last night a formal event held at the Urban Tree in Sandton, Johannesburg.

The event which was packed with film and TV professionals was hosted by comedian Alan Committie who managed to keep the crowd in stitches throughout the night.

The shortlisted nominees were chosen out of 432 entries received by the SAFTAs panel of judges.

The chairpersons of the judging panel Jerry Mofokeng and Roberta Durant assured guests that only the cream of the crop were shortlisted for the awards.

"The calibre of productions entered this year is world class," said Durant.

Veteran actor Jerry Mofokeng added that all those nominated for awards should consider themselves winners as only the best were chosen.

"Anyone and everyone that gets a Golden Horn nomination must walk tall," he said.

“Having gone through the process I can assure you that there’s no ‘ag shame’ award or nomination, Mofokeng added.

The nomination list had a few surprises with the judges choosing to not nominate anyone in certain categories and the exclusion of the SABC 2 soapie Muvhango from the Best TV soapie category.

The winner of the Best TV soap award will be chosen through a public voting system.

Isibaya bagged the most number of nominations in the TV soap categories, even earning all three nominations in the Best actor in a TV soap category.

Sdumo Mtshali, Bongani Gumede and Siyabonga Thwala were all nominated in that category.

Thembi Nyandeni (Isibaya), Celeste Ntuli (Isibaya) and Masasa Mbangeni (Scandal) will be vying for the title of Best actress in a TV soap.

Generations was only nominated in the Best TV soap category.

The international award winning and star-studded movie about the late Nelson Mandela earned a nod in the Best Feature film group.

The 8th South African Film & Television Awards (SAFTAS) will be held on the 4 and 5 of April 2014.

Here is a list of some of the nominees:





Villa Rosa


7 de Laan

Rhythm City

The Wild


Best Actress in a TV Soap

Thembi Nyandeni Mkabayi Zungu in Isibaya

Celeste Ntuli as Siphokazi Zungu in Isibaya

Masasa Mbangeni as Thembeka in Scandal

Best Actor in a TV Soap

Sdumo Mtshali as Sbu Ndlovu in Isibaya

Bongani Gumede as Mandla in Isibaya

Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu in Isibaya

Best Ensemble in a TV Soap



The Wild

Best Director of a TV Soap

Adze Ugah and Denny Miller (Isibaya)

Sthembiso Mathenjwa (Isidingo)

Sanele Zulu (Scandal)

Best Writing Team of a TV Soap

Rosalind Butler (Isidingo)

Charlie Sapadin (Rhythm City)

Writing Team (Isibaya)

Best TV Drama


Tempy Pushas

Room 9

Best Actor in a TV Drama

Mthunzi Ntoyi as Zola Yili in Montana

Siyabonga Thwala as Musa in Intersexions

Antony Coleman David King High Rollers

Best Actress in a TV Drama

Tina Jaxa as Nokuthula in Intersexions

Cebile Mlaba as MaDlamini in Intersexions

Gcina Mkhize as Manzuza in Intersexions

Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama

Lidani Nkosi as Baba Khumalo in Dreamworld

Patrick Shai as Seakamela in Skeem Saam

Akhumzi Jezile as Ngulube in Tempy Pushas

Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama

Thembsie Matu as Sis Ribs in Rockville

Harriet Manamela as Meike Maputla in Skeem Saam

Motshabi Tyelele as Olga in 2020 Orlando

Best Director of a TV Drama

Intersexions Directing Team

Rockville Johnny Barbuzano

Tempy Pushas Libby Dougherty and Tebogo Malope

High Rollers Directing Team

Best Writing Team of a TV Drama

High Rollers Writing Team

Intersexions Brent Quinn, Gillian Breslin and Linda Bere

Rockville Gwydion Beynon and Phathu Makwarela

Room 9 Athos Kyriakides and Thuso Sibisi

Best TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Night News


Best Director of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga (Late Nite News)

Segomotso Keorapetse (My Perfect Family)

Aaron Naidoo and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Actress in a TV Comedy

Meme Ditshego as Josephine Ga Re Dumele

Baby Cele as Portia Nkosi in My Perfect Family

Tsholo Monedi as Tiny in Skwizas

Lilian Dube as Mmane in Skwizas

Best Actor in a TV Comedy

Obed Baloyi as Tsutsuma in (Ga Re Dumele)

Boikie Pholo as Ratau in (Ga Re Dumele)

Mpho Osei-Tutu as Niko in (Samsokolo)

Best Writing Team of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga and Karabo Lediga (Late Nite News)

Katleho Ramaphakela,Meren Reddy and Mpho Osei-Tutu (My Perfect Family)

Andrew Donaldson, Anne Hirsch, Marianne Thamm and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Ensemble in a TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Nite News

Ga Re Dumele


Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Commenting is subject to our house rules.