anc suspends 25 limpopo councillors

The ANC in the Peter Mokaba region of Limpopo has suspended 25 ward councillors in various municipalities.

The suspensions came after allegations that the councillors were linked to the formation of the Congress of the People while others were accused of being lazy, inefficient and corrupt.

The Blouberg local municipality topped the list with nine councillors suspended, followed by Polokwane with six, Lepelle-Nkumpi five and Aganang three.

Some of those suspended are Aganang municipality mayor Manoko Masegela and her chief whip John Galane.

The others are Dan Sematla, Levy Mogolwa, Konki Ramalema, Frans Modiba, Simon Mokodi, Mastarch Setati, Phiphine Seraka, Abrinah Mokami, Sam Molea, Mamasegare Mphahlele, Chester Malema, Phelma Masilo, Morongwa Mphagane, Callit Motlatlole and Lehlaga Mphahlele.

The names of suspended councillors from the Polokwane municipality had not been released at the time of going to press.

The ANC's James Mankge said the decision was taken at a regional executive committee meeting at Miami Lodge in Polokwane yesterday.