ANC says Shikota MP not yet out

Anna Majavu

Anna Majavu

The ANC says it has not yet received MP Kiki Rwexana's resignation letter.

" I have not yet received a letter to say she has resigned," ANC chief whip Mnyamazeli Booi told a media briefing at parliament yesterday.

Rwexana announced last week that she was resigning as an ANC member and quitting parliament to join the Shikota initiative.

Booi was announcing the appointment of four new MPs - Agnes Mashishi, Sally MoiloaNgodi, Felix Fankomo and Freda Wright.

They are to fill vacancies left by former ministers Ronnie Kasrils, Sydney Mufamadi and Essop Pahad and former deputy president Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka.

Meanwhile, a showdown is looming in Cape Town after four ANC councillors, alleged to be working for the soon to be launched breakaway party, yesterday defied the ANC's instruction to resign.

The ANC told the media that ward councillors Boyisile Mafilika, Wandile Nkwele and Mzwandile Matiwane, and proportional representation councillor Kululwa Mpongo had, "agreed to resign" as councillors but to remain ANC members.

But the councillors denied that they had resigned.