More honours for rugby stars

Thabo Johnson

Thabo Johnson

The Springboks' winning streak continued at the fourth South African Sport awards ceremony held in Bloemfontein last Friday.

The Bok trio of Bryan Habana, JP Pietersen and outgoing Bok mentor Jake White, who were not present at the event, received top accolades.

Habana scooped a double, receiving the sport star and sportsman of the year accolades.

The awards are further recognition of his instrumental stint in the Springboks' successful campaign in the IRB World Cup, in which he scored eight tries to equal the record of New Zealand's Johna Lomu.

Habana's teammate Pietersen was named the newcomer of the year while coach White got the coach of the year honour.

Outgoing White was chosen ahead of the likes of current Orlando Pirates coach Owen da Gama and Viv Sierra, national wheelchair basketball team coach.

The Springboks were named the team of the year after their historic 15-6 win over England in the World Cup final.

Rising boxing star and Olympic medalist Bongani Mwelase was named the personality of the year while Oscar Pistorious was named disabled sportsman of the year.

Zanele Situ and Banyana Banyana star Portia Modise were the only women that won in the main category. Situ was named disabled sportswoman of the year and Modise sportswoman of the year.

The Steve Tshwete lifetime achievement award was awarded to boxing trainer Mzimasi Mnguni, Kaizer Chiefs boss Kaizer Motaung and International Cricket Council acting president Ray Mali.