Wed Oct 26 23:25:43 CAT 2016
Former Wits SRC President Mcebo Dlamini. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Dlamini ‘in facility where gays and police are placed’

Gauteng Community Safety MEC Sizakele Nkosi-Malobane on Tuessday reassured the public that student l.

New prize added to the literary awards

By Victor Mecoamere | Jun 05, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

THE nation will honour budding and established authors at the fourth yearly South African Literary Awards to be held on December 8.

THE nation will honour budding and established authors at the fourth yearly South African Literary Awards to be held on December 8.

The awards were pioneered by former Arts and Culture Minister Pallo Jordan in 2005.

They play a leading role in the ongoing preservation of South Africa's literary heritage and also seek to promote a culture of reading and writing among South Africans.

They are a nation-building partnership project of the Department of Arts and Culture, wRite Associates, Nutrend Publishers and Sowetan.

The awards also endeavours to honour and pay homage to literary practitioners, and where appropriate, to honour posthumously those who have since died.

Writers who have been honoured over the past few years include Es'kia Mphahlele, Noni Jabavu, Ellen Khuzwayo, Nadine Gordimer, Denis Brutus, James Matthews, Miriam Tlali, Modikoe Dikobe, Ephraim Lesoro, Toek Blignaut, DBZ Ntuli, Lauretta Ngcobo, Ronnie Govender , André Brink, Peter Abrahams, Lewis Nkosi, Don Mattera, Karel Schoeman, Gladys Thomas, Wally Serote, Oswald Mtshali, Mafika Gwala, Sipho Sepamla, Sindiwe Magona, Athol Fugard, Max Marhanele, Victor Dlamini, Bongani Madondo, Felix Thuketana, Otty Nxumalo Stephen Gray, Njabulo Ndebele, Miriam Makeba, Chris van Wyk, Adam Small and Dora Taylor.

Some of these authors also had some of their finest works immortalised in a book titledBand of Troubadours, which captures the first three years of the awards series.

Morakabe "Raks" Seakhoa, a local literary personality and director of award organisers wRite Associates, says a poetry category is being added to the seven categories for which awards were made last year.

These are the National Poet Laureate Prize, currently held by Keorapetse Kgositsile, Lifetime Achievement Literary Award, Posthumous Literary Award, Literary Journalism Award, K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award, Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award, which encourages writing in African languages, and the Literary Translators Award.

The closing date for submissions is July 29. No late submissions will be considered.

For further information about anything relating to the awards, you are welcome to call 011-791-3585, 011-791-4102 or 011-792-9143, fax 011-791-4125 or e-mail


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT