Fri Oct 28 08:35:53 CAT 2016
Order restored at Sun City Prison after fiery protest over inmates’ TVs

Correctional Services said that “matters are under control” at Johannesburg’s Sun City Prison on Wed.

2 provinces rule the roost

By unknown | Mar 17, 2008 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Western Province and KwaZulu-Natal dominated the 31-team Softball South Africa (SSA) National Championships that were successfully hosted by the powerful Western Province Softball Federation (WPSF) in Cape Town.

The celebrated event pitched off at the imposing Turfhall Softball Stadium last Monday and the finals were played on Saturday.

KwaZulu-Natal were crowned men's major A and men's major B champions.

Western Province won the women's major A and women's major B divisions.

The gusty KwaZulu-Natal side hammered Western Province 6-0 in the final and their B team beat Limpopo 7-3 in their closing match.

KwaZulu-Natal clobbered Limpopo 8-1, while Western Province beat Eastern Gauteng 5-1 to reach the finals of the men's major A division.

Western Province pipped Gauteng North 7-6 and KwaZulu beat Limpopo 6-1 in the semifinals of the women's major A.

The hosts' B side hammered last year's queens Gauteng North 11-2 to take the women's major B laurels.

Noore Nacerodien, WPSF' boss, said the yearly event was a roaring success. He thanked all the stakeholders for helping them stage a colourful event.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT