Tue Oct 25 03:26:04 SAST 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

Awards to honour SA writers

By unknown | Dec 08, 2006 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Ziyanda Ndyoko

Ziyanda Ndyoko

South African writers will be honoured at the South African Literary Awards ceremony in Bloemfontein tonight.

The awards, to be conferred at the Sand du Plessis Theatre, in Bloemfontein, pay tribute to writers who have dedicated their lives to literature.

They were inaugurated last year when the late Zulu poet Mazisi Kunene became the first South African poet to be awarded the National Poet Laureate Prize.

The event will be attended by the Minister of Arts and Culture, Pallo Jordan, and by the Free State MEC for arts and culture, Susan Mnumzana.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will honour novelist Andre Brink, poet Don Mattera and, posthumously, journalist Lewis Nkosi, among others.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT