EC tops BSA nomination list

Eastern Cape has once again made its presence felt by dominating the nomination list for the Boxing SA awards that will take place in Durban on Friday.

The province will have 31 representatives in various categories.

This was also the case seven years ago.

Sadly, hosts KwaZulu-Natal will have just one representative - referee Darryl Ribbink. Limpopo will pin its hopes on matchmaker Azwindini Simba while Bukiwe Nonina is also based in that province although she comes from the Eastern Cape.

Promoter Lebo Mahoko will represent the Free State while Sylvia Mokaila has always saved face for the North West. Deon Dwarte will be there on behalf of the Western Cape. The public made the nominations.

Gauteng has 13 representatives. Others like Simpiwe Khonkco, Xolisani Ndongeni, Thulani Mbenge, Malibongwe Bhido, Pumeza Zinakile, Mbali Zantsi, Sandile Xaka and Thabo Spampool (all from the Eastern Cape). Koena Moabelo (Limpopo) and Lerato Dlamini (Free State) are all based in Joburg.

Some of the Eastern Cape nominees are: Nthabiseng Didi, Noni Tenge, Azinga Fuzile, Zolani Tete, Mabhuti Sinyabi, Ayanda Matiti, Thembalethu Ntuthu, Luyanda Sovasi, Luyanda Kana, Namhla Tyuluba, Leighnadre Jegels, Sharrodene Fortuin, Unathi Myekeni, Mandisi Mkile, Siya Vabaza-Booi, Sthembele Tom, Unathi Myekeni and Mzamo Njekanye.

Would you like to comment on this article or view other readers' comments? Register (it’s quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.