Mosimane beats Wenger onto list of top 10 club coaches in the world

28 December 2016 - 15:38
By Marc Strydom

Mamelodi Sundowns’ coach Pitso Mosimane and goalkeeper Denis Onyango have each achieved a top 10 placing in the world‚ in an emphatic recognition of what the Brazilians have achieved on the international stage in 2016.

Mosimane was placed 10th on the International Federation of Football History and Statistics’ (IFFHS) prestigious list of club coaches‚ which is headed by Diego Simeone of Atletico Madrid (113 points)‚ Zinedine Zidane of Real Madrid (108) and Claudio Ranieri of Leicester City (86).

Sundowns’ coach scored five points in the list voted for by experts from 50 countries‚ placing him above Arsenal’s Arsene Wenger (four)‚ Leonardo Jardim of AS Monaco (three) and Olivier Blanc of Paris Saint-Germain (three).

Ugandan Onyango also made 10th place on the list of best goalkeepers‚ which was headed Germany and Bayern Munich’s keeper Manuel Neuer (156 points)‚ followed by Gianluigi Buffon of Italy and Juventus (91) and Rui Patricio of Portugal and Sporting (50)

Onyango also scored five points‚ beating Arsenal and Cech Republic keeper Petr Cech (four) and Inter Milan and Slovenia’s Samir Handanovic (two).

The IFFHS rankings:

Best club coach of 2016:

1 – Diego Simeone (Club Atletico de Madrid) 113 points

2 – Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid CF) 108 points

3 – Claudio Ranieri (FC Leicester) 86 points

4 – Josep Guardiola (FC Bayern München/FC Manchester City) 62 points

5 – Unai Emery (FC Sevilla/Paris SG) 38 points

6 – Luis Enrique (FC Barcelona) 24 points

7 – Jürgen Klopp (FC Liverpool) 16 points

8 – Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur FC) 15 points

9 – Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus Torino FC) 6 points

10 – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) 5 points

11 – Arsene Wenger (Arsenal FC) 4 points

12 – Leonardo Jardim (AS Monaco) 3 points

12 – Olivier Blanc (Paris SG) 3 points


Best goalkeeper of 2016:

1- Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern München) 156 points

2- Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus Torino FC) 91 points

3- Rui Patricio (Portugal/Sporting Portugal) 50 points

4- Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City FC) 45 points

5- David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United FC) 37 points

6- Jan Oblak (Slovenia/Club Atletico de Madrid) 31 points

7- Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC) 29 points

8- Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid CF) 18 points

9- Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Chelsea FC) 13 points

10-Denis Onyango (Uganda/Mamelodi Sundowns) 5 points

11-Petr Cech (Cech Republic/Arsenal London FC) 4 points

12-Samir Handanovic (Slovenia/FC Inter Milano) 2 points

13-Marc Andre Ter Stegen (Germany/FC Barcelona) 1 point

- TMG Sport


Download our App
Download our Apple AppDownload our Android App