Just rewards for Nomvethe

Photo: Antonio Muchave
Photo: Antonio Muchave

VETERAN Moroka Swallows striker Siyabonga Nomvethe scooped four major awards at the glittering Premier Soccer League event in Johannesburg on Sunday night.

Nomvethe's coach Gordon Igesund won the coach of the year award.

The 34-year-old striker won the PSL footballer, Absa player, the players' player and the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot awards of the season, pocketing R600,000 for his achievement.

Nomvethe, who scored 20 league goals and was nominated with teammate David Mathebula and Orlando Pirates defender Siyabonga Sangweni, won R250,000 for the footballer of the year award.

He also beat Mathebula and Sangweni for the player of the season award, taking home a further R150,000 for the prize.

Nomvethe was also voted ahead of Mathebula and Mamelodi Sundowns captain Teko Modise by his peers in the players' player of the season award, which carried a prize of R150,000.

He went to the podium for the fourth time to collect R50,000 and the Golden Boot Award, named after the late Pirates striker Lesley Manyathela.

Igesund won the coach of the season award for guiding the Beautiful Birds to second place, having helped the team stave off relegation last term.

Igesund, who was nominated with Steve Komphela of Free State Stars and SuperSport United's Gavin Hunt, went home with R75,000 .

The only coach to win the Premiership title with four different clubs has been credited with transforming Swallows into a well-oiled machine.

Another PSL senior citizen to win the award last night was Pirates striker Benni McCarthy, who received R50,000 for the Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the season award.

McCarthy received an additional R200,000 as the Telkom Knockout player of the tournament gong.

Continuing the veteran theme last night was striker David Radebe who got R50,000 after finishing as the top National First Division's top goalscorer.

Other awards went to Pirates' Oupa Manyisa (the MTN8 Last Man Standing award, which carried R150,000), Sundowns' Nyasha Mushekwi (Nedbank Cup player of the tournament, R100,000), and SuperSport United's Thabiso Nkoana (Nedbank Cup young player of the tournament, R25,000), Sundowns' Wayne Sandilands (Premiership goalkeeper of the tournament, R50,000) and Ronwen Williams of SS United (Red hot player of the season, R50,000).

For the big prize of the event, Pirates received R10m that goes with winning the league title.