Defaulting municipalities agree to pay Eskom

Eskom Acting CE Brian Molefe announced this evening that 10 of the top 20 defaulting municipalities have reached agreements to pay up what they owe to the electricity utility.

This comes after Eskom earlier this month threatened to cut power supply to 20 non-paying municipalities from June 5.

“Eskom has reached a point where it can no longer continue to provide power without receiving payment‚ ” Molefe said‚ in a statement issued via Twitter by the Eskom media desk.

The statement added the payment agreements meant the 10 municipalities would no longer face the risk of power interruptions.

Eskom‚ meanwhile‚ also announced a resumption of load-shedding for the first time since the Freedom Day long weekend.

Stage one load-shedding was implemented from 6pm today‚ Wednesday‚ and was scheduled to continue until 10pm.

The Times reported on April 10 that Eskom had threatened to cut bulk electricity supply to the 20 municipalities which owed the cash-strapped utility R3.68 billion in unpaid power bills.

These municipalities are: Maluti-a-Phofung‚ Matjhabeng‚ Emalahleni‚ Ngwathe‚ Thaba Chweu‚ Lekwa‚ Govan Mbeki‚ City of Matlosana‚ Naledi‚ Thabazimbi‚ Msukaligwa‚ Lichtenburg‚ Nala‚ Makana‚ Madibeng‚ Randfontein‚ Dihlabeng‚ Nketoana‚ Nama Khoi and Westonaria.




Would you like to comment on this article or view other readers' comments? Register (it’s quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.