Schultz and Dlamini tipped for knockout of the year prize

FIGHT fans enjoy knockouts ostensibly because they settle the score beyond a shadow of a doubt.

FIGHT fans enjoy knockouts ostensibly because they settle the score beyond a shadow of a doubt.

Those artists deserve acknowledgement and Boxing SA will do just that at their annual boxing awards ceremony, either later this month or early next month.

The sport's governing body will appoint a committee that will be tasked with the nominations and deciding on the winners in all categories in due course.

Boxing SA still has to meet with the SABC, which owns the broadcasting rights to the awards, and then finalise the date for the actual ceremony.

Once that is done the awards committee will be appointed.

Sowetan has made its nomination for the above-mentioned category. Yours truly recorded three excellent knockouts last year.

They involved André Thysse, Michael Schultz and Mlungisi Dlamini.

Thysse, making a comeback after a two-year retirement, craftily demolished Emmanuel Duma with a picture-perfect right to the chin in the fifth round. Duma went down like he had been shot.

Their fight was presented by Golden Gloves at Emperors Palace on September 29.

On October 30, at Wembley Arena, Schultz, appearing for the second time after a 13-year retirement, lifted Samuel Mathebula off the canvas with a well-executed left uppercut to the jaw in the third round.

You could swear that Mathebula had either stamped on a limpet mine or fallen from a trampoline. Their fight was presented by Branco Sports Productions.

Back at Emperors Palace the following day, Dlamini dropped Zolani Marali with a devastating straight right to the chin in the third round.

Marali tried to get up but his legs were like those of a newborn calf. He crawled but fell over. They fought for the IBO lightweight belt and their fight was staged by Golden Gloves.

Sowetan believes that the Schultz and Dlamini knockdowns were both outstanding. If nominated the committee could end up tossing a coin to decide the winner between the two duels.

This award was introduced by Loyiso Mtya in 2007, then Boxing SA's director of operations. Thomas Mashaba was the inaugural winner while Ali Funeka scooped it last year.