limpopo plans 16 fan parks

All reports by Ramatsiyi Moholoa

All reports by Ramatsiyi Moholoa

The Limpopo provincial government has identified 16 venues that will be used as public viewing areas for the 2010 World Cup.

The venues include Lesley Manyathela Stadium in Musina, Makhado Showgrounds, NkowaNkowa Stadium, BelaBela Stadium and Lebowakgomo Stadium.

NkowaNkowa Stadium will also be used as a pilot project during the Confederations Cup in June.

Pandelani Ramagoma, Limpopo's World Cup project coordinator, said they wanted to ensure that all people in the province have access to the tournament.

"We all know that Fifa has approved only one fan park in Limpopo [Tom Naude High School], which will be constructed by the Polokwane municipality," Ramagoma said.

"This is meant for people who may not be able to get into the [Peter Mokaba Stadium and also provide a big screen even if the games take place in other districts and provinces.

"To assist people all over the province, there will be public viewing areas that will be established in different municipalities to make sure people staying far from the city [Polokwane] enjoy the games."

Ramagoma said that entry to the public viewing areas will be free.

"Big screens will be placed and connected to show all the 64 games, irrespective of where they will be taking place," he said.

"Nationally, there will be 47 public viewing areas that will be supported by the national government.

"District municipalities were offered an opportunity to identify one possible public viewing area that will be funded as a national priority."

Ramagoma said Eskom will provide electricity to public viewing areas, adding that the department of roads and transport will deal with the infrastructure needs.

Acting Limpopo premier Cassel Mathale is happy that the province's overall preparations for the World Cup are on track.

Limpopo will host four first round World Cup 2010 games at the new Peter Mokaba Stadium, which is being built near the existing facility also named after the late ANC leader.