World Cup board has new members

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

The four cabinet ministers who resigned after Thabo Mbeki was recalled as president by the ANC have been replaced on the board of the Fifa World Cup local organising committee.

The four are the Pahad brothers, Essop and Azziz, Jabu Moleketi and Sydney Mufamadi.

Mufamadi was also the convenor of the host cities' committee, while Moleketi served as chairman of the finance committee.

Irvin Khoza, LOC chairman, yesterday told the media at Safa House that the four no longer serve on the board.

"We value their contribution, they've been great ambassadors of this country," he said.

Khoza added that the board had accepted the appointment of four new government representatives.

President Kgalema Motlanthe has appointed Sicelo Shiceka, Susan Shabangu, Sue van der Merwe and Lesetja Kganyago.

Khoza also announced that a resolution was adopted at their meeting to increase the board to a maximum of 25 members without the approval of the South African Football Association (Safa) or Fifa.

Currently, the board has a maximum of 20 members.

"When there is a need for us to increase the board, we don't have to go to Safa and Fifa," said Khoza.

He said there could be further changes as South Africa goes to the polls soon and Safa is electing new leadership in September.