Plan to relive Limpopo glory days

BEARER: Collions Chabalala. 05/12/2008. Pic. Lefty Shivambu.  © Gallo Images
BEARER: Collions Chabalala. 05/12/2008. Pic. Lefty Shivambu. © Gallo Images

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

South African Soccer Legends have welcomed the decision to revive once popular but now defunct Limpopo clubs.

The Limpopo government initiative is part of the 2010 World Cup legacy projects for the province.

"It's a great initiative that we are delighted to be part of," said Peter "Fuduwa" Mathekga, the legends' spokesman in Limpopo.

Such clubs include Seshego Stone Breakers, Bankuna Big XV, Tafelkop United, Dynamic Bullets, Napo Tubatse Aces, Lenyenye Gunners, MTD Copper Stars, Lebowakgomo United, Mogoto All Stars, Mahwelereng Motherwells, Phalaborwa United, Batlokwa Home Stars, Seshego Siants, Black Pool and Seshego City Carlton.

Mathekga said: "It is unfortunate that the history of soccer in Limpopo was not record for people to see that we are among the best producers of quality players.

"Greats like Trott Moloto, Harris Choeu, Harold Legodi, William Makhura, Andrew Dipela, Styles Ledwaba, Kingsley Masingi and Chippa Chauke are from those clubs.

"The province will also train coaches and administrators.

"It is good that the government is using the 2010 World Cup as a vehicle to promote soccer," a former Seshego Naughty Boys striker.

Other top players from Limpopo include Masilo Modubi, Alex Bapela, Richard Rantjie, Andries Sebola, Gerald Raphahlela, Tlou Segolela, Mpho Maleka, Collins Chabalala, Tonic Chabalala, Rudzani Ramudzuli and David Mathebula.

Mathekga also announced that his structure will meet Mokopane Academy on January 12 to discuss a partnership they are planning to embark on in the new year.