'Moutse to remain in Limpopo'

Alex Matlala

Alex Matlala

The newly elected leadership of the ANC in Sekhukhune will fight tooth and nail to make sure that Moutse remains in Limpopo.

This is despite the promise by Provincial and Local Government Minister Sicelo Shiceka to revisit the laws that incorporated Matatiele, Moutse and Merafong into provinces that the residents did not want.

The three areas, formerly known as cross-border municipalities, have been incorporated into Limpopo, Eastern Cape and North West, respectively.

The residents of the three areas want to be re-incorporated into Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal and Gauteng.

Sekhukhune ANC regional chairman David Magabe said yesterday Moutse belonged to Limpopo.

He said if people in Moutse had problems with service delivery they must say so and leave matters of incorporation to parliament.

"We have systems in place to make Moutse, like any other area in the province, a better place to live in by improving services in their communities," he said.

"We have dispatched people to the area to mobilise residents to withdraw their threats and work with government."