5 Limpopo mayors get the chop

Alex Matlala

Alex Matlala

One of the five mayors who had been ordered by the ANC in Limpopo to resign has yielded to the pressure and quit yesterday.

The five mayors - Angie Ramaepadi of Greater Giyani, Glory Mashaba of Makhado, Teboho Mohapi of Modimolle, Martha Maphanga of Mable Hall and Refilwe Kubjana of Blouberg - were fired on November 6 by the provincial ANC leadership.

Sowetan has learnt that three of them - Ramaepadi, Mashaba and Kubjana - have already resigned and are hunting for jobs.

"I have tendered my resignation as mayor of greater Giyani municipality because I am a loyal member of the ANC who abides by the constitution of the party," Ramaepadi said yesterday.

"I don't know what the future holds for me but I hope God will send His angels to provide me with another job so that I can provide for my family."

Kubjana and Mashaba have confirmed that they resigned on November 17 and 8 respectively.

Mohapi and Seriti are expected to resign before the end of the week to give the newly appointed mayors a chance to move into their offices next week.

The remaining mayors will have to resign before the end of the month.

The new mayors to be sworn in are Doris Mathebula, Mavhungu Lurule, Garita Lekalakala, Yvonne Mmakola and Segoalane Seriti, who are expected to be inaugurated as mayors this week.

They will start working in their various municipalities from December 1.

The resignations come after an initial reluctance to accept the ANC order and demanding that theparty furnish reasons for their dismissal.

The ANC subsequently extended its November 7 ultimatum to November 30 and threatened to take drastic action against those who did not heed its instructions.

ANC spokesman Ishmael Kgetjepe said the affected mayors had been moved away from their positions as members of the ANC and not fired from the party.

He said that they would be deployed to perform other functions of the party and in government.

Kgetjepe said the ANC had a plan in place to deal with those who were still reluctant to tender their resignations as required by the provincial executive committee.