Grand prizes for radio personalities, listeners vie fpr priz

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

Radio presenters and producers at Ikwekwezi FM can walk away with grand prizes at the station's yearly awards ceremony next month.

The Ikwekwezi FM Star Awards will be held for the second successive year on December 5 .

At last year's glamorous event, Mbuzana Sello Nyathi walked away with the best DJ of the year award, while DJ Bobo's Amathunzi Anabile 3pm to 6pm slot scooped best programme for 2008.

This year's awards ceremony will be held at Chez Charlen, Silver Lake, in Pretoria East.

The Top DJ Award will be a tug-of-war between the listeners' young favourites, Mbuzana, DJ Bobo and the hot newcomer Nkosinathi Ntuli, the former SABC continuity presenter who now hosts Morning Drive Show for Ikwe kwezi FM.

Nana Mdlalose, station events manager, says the event will be bigger because new categories have been added to accommodate every department and unit.

"The main stakeholders, listeners, are given more chances to win marvellous prizes, including cash prizes, by participating in the public-voting category.

Every day the station will give away a R1000 prize, and on Friday each show between 6am and 6pm will give away R1000. On the day of the awards ceremony the station will give away R30000 to the lucky overall winner on our afternoon drive show," says Mdlalose.

"To make this year's event more interesting, listeners can win cash prizes every week until the day of the event by sending an SMS to 34878. Listeners stand a chance of winning R1000."

The categories are: Best Presenter, Best Programme Producer, Best Radio Reporter, Best Newsreader, Best Current Affairs Presenter, Best Current Affairs Producer, Best Bulletin Writer, Best Drama, Best Female Drama Actor, Best Male Drama Actor and Best Sports Presenter.