W Cape councillors defect to Shikota

Anna Majavu

Anna Majavu

Four more Western Cape ANC councillors who defected to the Shikota initiative this week face expulsion today after they were suspended yesterday.

They are Bettie Fortuin, Freddie Speelman, Vuyo Kelepu and Philip Tziga.

Their "crime" was trying to topple the Breede Valley municipality by signing the Freedom Front Plus and DA's motion of no-confidence in ANC council leaders.

Breede Valley speaker Joseph January told Sowetan that the four Shikota councillors on Tuesday tabled a motion of no confidence in him, mayor Charles Ntsomi and deputy mayor Tom Pedro.

The ANC is in power by a margin of three seats in the Breede River municipality.

The defection of the four ANC councillors would have handed control of the municipality to a coalition made up of the DA, FF+ and Independent Democrats and two independent councillors.

This is the second group of ANC councillors in the province to join the Shikota initiative and to try and topple the ANC.

The first group, from the Drakenstein council, were Dan Kotze, Claude Julies, Spasie Kika, Frans Koopman and Van den Berg Pienaar.

They were expelled on Monday after entering into an alliance with the DA, FF+ and ID to topple mayor and ANC PEC member Charmaine Manuel.

The ANC has a majority of four seats in Drakenstein and will now be forced to contest a by-election on December 10.

They will reportedly stand under the new Shikota banner.