Meet pupils who will debate for honours

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Four-member teams represent different countries in the debates. This year, nine teams from South Africa's nine provinces will participate, together with pupils from Kenya and the UK. The pupils will represent countries across the world. These countries are:

l China is represented by Dexter Munnik and Timothy Abel and Madilakhe Mtsamko and Lidilanga Mtotoyi from the St Andrews and Nombulelo schools in Eastern Cape;

l Sudan is represented by Zinzile Molewa and Maseabata Mdee and Motse Matosa and Thato Matsosa from St Michael's and Tsoseletso schools in Free State;

l Australia is represented by Kaitlyn Churchyard and Jardyn Labuscher and Tsholofelo Thema and Joy Mathenjwa from the Heronridge and Chris Jan schools in Gauteng;

l Myanmar is represented by Papaki Mathabatha and Tommy Gabara and Mokgadi Matjea and Leladi Manamela from the Bokamoso and Motsemaria high schools in Limpopo;

l France is represented by Johan Coetser and Kyla Goodwin and Tshegofatso Malope and Hilda Chongo of the Entheos Christian and Mashishing high schools in Mpumalanga;

l Pakistan is represented by Zinzi Plaatjie and Joyce Pooe and Keitumetse Mokgoro and Gordon Mokgoroane of Northern Cape and Floors North High School in Northern Cape;

l Iran is represented by Constance Gaanakgomo and Nametso Sebitso and Chrisna Robbertse and Michelle Eddie of the Wolmaranstad and Gatelapele high schools in North West;

l Liberia is represented by Nicholas Greig and Tristan von Zahn of Bishops Diocesan College and Phila Lobi and Mthuthuzeli Mbembeni of the Leap High School. Both schools are in Western Cape.

l South Africa is represented by Tamjeed Alarakhia, Shiv Morjaria, Swaleh Ouma and Nafisa Abdulhamid from the Aga Khan Academy in Kenya;

l Indonesia is represented by Kenya's Hillcrest Secondary School pupils Natalya Din Kariuki, Shereen Zahid, Amparo Fraser and Clare Rotich;

l The United Kingdom is represented by Narissa Allibhai, Rasberg Gwanzura, Leona Leipold and Mellisa Kiplagat who are also from Hillcrest Secondary School in Kenya;

l Russia is represented by Ronan Magee, Ellis Onword, Ethan Schwartz and Mahommed Sorodia from the City of London School.

l And, Venezuela is represented by pupils of the City of London School.