Public in dark over rule changes

Meshack Motloung

Meshack Motloung

A recent referee's decision in an Absa Premiership soccer match has highlighted the need for rule changes to be communicated more effectively.

This happened last weekend when Orlando Pirates hosted Santos in a Premiership encounter at Ellis Park Rugby Stadium.

Pirates were awarded a penalty by referee Peter Mabuza and the kicker, Teko Modise, who used the stop-and-go tactic, was ordered to retake the penalty after scoring.

He was also shown a yellow card in the process.

His second attempt was saved by former teammate Francis Chansa in the Santos goal. The game ended in a 1-1 draw.

When asked about the incident, Mabuza said according to the Fifa rules his decision was correct.

"A kicker was supposed to stop within a meter from where the ball was and move again and kick. But in the case of Modise, he went straight to the ball and put his foot over it, when the goalkeeper dived, he scored," said Mabuza.

"That is why I cautioned him and ordered a retake."

The Referees Technical Committee chairman, Adeel Carelse said he saw nothing wrong with Mabuza's decision because he used his discretion.

"What Modise did by playing his foot over the ball is unsporting behaviour and that is why he was cautioned and a retake was ordered."

The player, however, pleaded ignorance of the rule yesterday.

"We [Bucs players] were not forewarned about what not to do in such situations. The referee only explained what I did wrong when he cautioned me."