'ex ministers must resign from the loc'

Mhlaba Memela

Mhlaba Memela

The ANC in KwaZulu-Natal has called on the national executive committee (NEC) to oust former ministers from the 2010 Local Organising Committee (LOC) board.

The ANC's provincial executive committee (PEC) said Jabu Moleketi, Sydney Mufamadi and Essop Pahad should vacate their positions in the LOC since they are no longer in government.

The three were among ministers who resigned in protest after the axing of former president Thabo Mbeki.

ANC provincial secretary Senzo Mchunu said comments by former deputy minister of finance Moleketi that he would like to continue serving on the LOC board after resigning from cabinet is only self serving.

"These comrades must remember that they were elected to serve on the LOC based on their positions as ministers of the country, not as individuals.

"If they resolved that they are no longer willing to serve their country as ministers, we see no basis for them to continue serving on the LOC board other than to pursue their own personal ambitions," he said.

Mchunu said they will soon make a recommendation that these positions be filled by members of the new cabinet because the ANC is committed to giving its full support to the 2010 World Cup.

Mchunu said the PEC had also welcomed the decision to recall Thabo Mbeki as president of the country.

"The decision was in the best interests of the party. The public must understand that the organisation has the right to deploy and recall its members," Mchunu said.