Ex Miss SA headlines a bevy of celebs vying for top dance prize

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

Former Miss South Africa Cindy Nell is leading a list of 10 celebrities who will hit the dance floor in season five of the TV hit show Strictly Come Dancing.

The 10 celebrity couples will spend 10 weeks, from October 2, pounding the dance floor, and viewers will have a field day as they witness all the drama involving their idols.

Revealed for the first time on Wednesday, the dancers' flops and flares will be screened on SABC2.

The couples will be judged by the same panel that adjudicated season four of the show. These are Lilian Phororo, Dave Campbell, Salome Sechele and Tyron Watkins.

The fifth season of Strictly Come Dancing will be aired on Thursdays at 7.30pm until 8.30pm, After an hour-long break, it will resume at 9.30pm.

In the first part, from 7.30pm to 8.30pm, the contestants will show off their talents as they compete to win votes from the public and judges.

And in the second part, from 9.30pm to 10pm the results will be announced. The show will be hosted by Ian von Memerty and Sandy Ngema.

Last season's winner was hip hop star HHP.