Mabuza defeats Chiwayo to become ANC boss

Alfred Moselakgomo

Alfred Moselakgomo

Mpumalanga MEC for agriculture and former ANC deputy chairman David Mabuza is the province's new ANC chairman - he beat challenger, Mbombela mayor Lassy Chiwayo.

Mabuza was elected Mpumalanga's new leader at the ANC's 10th provincial congress held in Nelspruit at the weekend.

Mabuza got 388 votes and Chiwayo scored 305.

Mabuza's election puts him in a position to become Mpumalanga's premier after the elections next year.

Members of his "faction" were elected into the provinces' top five position.

Charles Makola was elected deputy chairman. He defeated Candith Mashego-Dlamini. Makola is the Nkangala district municipal manager and ANC chairman in the region.

Lucky Ndinisa beat Boy Nobunga to become the party's new secretary. Ndinisa is a member of Mpumalanga's legislature.

Albert Luthuli mayor, Snana Dlamini, was elected deputy secretary after beating Jacques Modipane.

Clifford Mukansi, ANC chairman in the Bohlabela district, is the provincial treasurer after beating David Mkhwanazi.

During the announcement of the new executive, security personnel led by Mpumalanga health MEC Fish Mahlalela denied journalists entry into the marquee, saying the announcement was a closed session.

It was only after Mabuza was announced the winner that ANC spokesman Paul Mbenyane intervened and reporters were allowed in.