Scramble for cup slots heats up

Matome Lebea

Matome Lebea

Three provinces decide their representatives for the national championships of the Milo Champions Cup tomorrow and on Sunday.

The three provinces are Limpopo, Eastern Cape and Western Cape.

The Under-14 soccer competition for primary schools across the country is sponsored by Nestle, and the first prize is a trip to Barcelona, Spain in September.

The national championships will be held from August 15 to 18 at Marks Park in Johannesburg.

Polokwane Cricket Club will be the battle field for eight Limpopo schools.

Biko Park from Seshego and Machichi from Dennilton are tipped to win the title.

Other schools that are in with a fighting chance are Ukhutula and Lenyenye from Tzaneen, Mabuela Ramorolane from Mokopane and Rathoma from Sekgosese.

Vhembe district's schools were involved in their district championship to decide their two representatives yesterday.

Eastern Cape schools will battle it out at Cradock.

The schools are Nkunimbini, Vulamazibuko, Phindubuye, Bechuanaland and Nyaniso.

In Western Cape 16 schools will gather at Parow in Cape Town to fight for the title on Sunday.

Phakamisani, Hlengisa and Cloetesville will enter the race as hot favourites.

Other contesting schools are Restvale, MM Mateza, Idasvalley, St Konrad, Isalathiso, Lwazi, Nomlinganiselo, Marian, Early Wood, Zoekoevlei, Protea and Newtown.