Mpumalanga all set to choose new ANC leaders

Riot Hlatshwanyo and Eric Naki

Riot Hlatshwanyo and Eric Naki

It's all systems go for the Mpumalanga ANC provincial conference scheduled for the Lowveld Showgrounds in Nelspruit from August 15 to 17.

ANC provincial spokesman Paul Mbenyane said about 1000 delegates representing ANC branches, the provincial executive committee (PEC), regional executive committees (RECs) and the women and youth leagues will attend.

The conference will also be attended by the party's national leadership and alliance partners.

The tussle for the chairmanship is between MEC for agriculture David Mabuza and Mbombela municipality mayor Lassy Chiwayo.

Incumbent chairman and Premier Thabang Makwetla has been sidelined by the Jacob Zuma camp, while his supporters nominated him as well as incumbent secretary Lucas Mello as an additional member.

The top-five list of the Zuma camp consists of DD Mabuza as chairman, Charles Makola as deputy chairman, Lucky Ndzinisa as secretary, Sinana Dlamini as deputy secretary and Clifford Mkansi as treasurer.

The top-five nominees for the Thabo Mbeki camp has Chiwayo as chairman, Candith MashegoDlamini as deputy chairman, Boy Nobunga as secretary, Jacques Modipane as deputy secretary and DS Mkhwanazi as treasurer

The conference was previously postponed because of some of the branches' failure to hold branch general meetings to elect delegates and nominate leadership.

In Northern Cape ANC chairman John Block will struggle to retain his position against challenger and incumbent provincial secretary Neville Mompati.