First Division floor-crossing not over yet

Matome Lebea

Matome Lebea

The floor-crossing by National First Division coaches is expected to stretch on for a longer period as more than four teams are still without head coaches.

At least seven coaches will be staying put. They are Molefi Ntseki at African Warriors, Boebie Solomons at Winners Park, Sergio dos Santos at Ikapa Sporting, Johnny Ferreira at FC Cape Town, Nsanzurimo Ramadhan at Durban Stars and Jomo Sono at Jomo Cosmos, who indicated that he may consider leaving coaching after 2010.

The seventh coach is Ali Akan who was reunited with FC AK after they split during the playoffs.

It is not clear if Witbank Spurs' caretaker coach Harry Nkosi will lead Siyavutha during the 2008-2009 season.

The newly promoted coach is Steve Barker at University of Pretoria (Amatuks).

Those who jumped ship are Innocent Mayoyo, who dumped Dynamos to join the ambitious Mpumalanga Black Aces, and Lindani Shezi who left Durban Stars to join Nathi Lions where he replaced Mlungisi Ngubane.

Hanover Park are still negotiating with Boniface Doe, who led the team last season, and with former Maritzburg United assistant coach Ashton Sutton.

Dynamos are still working around the clock to find a replacement for Mayoyo, while there are rumours that assistant coach Raymond Mdaka may lead the side next season.

l FC Cape Town's defender Darren Dicks is attending trials with a top Greek team after the national Under-20 player rejected a five-year offer from Mamelodi Sundowns recently, club managing director Errol Dicks said.