Chance to study making films in UK

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

Talented young South Africans who wish to study film-making have a chance to apply for an overseas scholarship.

The Trevor Jones Scholarship has been made possible through a collaboration by the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), the National Film and Television School (NFTS) and Trevor Jones, the South African-born screen music composer .

This special scholarship was designed to help talented young South African film makers study in the UK at the National Film Television School. It is one of the UK's most prestigious institutions for post-graduate education in film and television. The NFTS provides purpose-built film studios and a separate large television studio with all the facilities.

The film and television stages, animation and production design studios, edit suites, sound post-production facilities, music recording studio and dubbing theatre are all furnished with new-generation digital equipment equivalent to that used at the highest level in today's film and television industry.

Students learn from some of the UK's most accomplished film and television programme makers and the high tutor-to-student ratio allows teaching to be very specific to individual students' needs.

The tutors at NFTS are leaders in the industry - Stephen Frears (The Queen) in fiction direction, Brian Tufano (Trainspotting) in cinematography, the television department's David G Croft (Live Aid, Shooting Stars, Top of the Pops) and Nik Powell, the director at NFTS, and a producer himself (Calendar Girls, Little Voice, The Crying Game).

Trevor Jones ( Last of the Mohicans, Cliffhanger, In the Name of the Father, Brassed Off, Notting Hill, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Around the World in 80 Days ) will contribute funds equally with the NFVF and NFTS to the scholarship for South Africans accepted for their masters' degree in film studies at the NFTS.

The scholarship is offered every two years and the next opening will be announced soon for the 2009 academic year.

To learn more visit: or send email to