Literary awards aimed at unearthing the best

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

This year's South African Literary Awards, as past wards, continue to unearth the best literary exponents and proponents.

Though designed primarily to pay tribute to established and emerging writers, the awards play a leading role in the ongoing preservation of South Africa's literary heritage.

Pioneered by the Arts and Culture Department and its minister, Pallo Jordan, and wRite Associates, the awards are supported by Sowetan, Sunday World, the SABC and Nutrend Publishers.

The awards also seek to promote a culture of reading and writing among South Africans.

Winners are awarded the:

lK Sello Duiker Memorial Award;

lNadine Gordimer Short Story Award;

lSA Literary Award Literary Posthumous Award;

lThe Literary Achievement Award; and

lThe Sowetan and SABC Literary Journalism awards for print, radio and journalism.

A new category, the Translators Literary Award, has been added.

Established and emerging writers are invited to submit works for the 2008 SA Literary Awards.

For more information and submission forms, call wRite Associates on 011-791-3585 or 011-791-4102 or e-mail, or visit

For more information about the SA Literary Awards and Sowetan nation-building activities and articles, go to