Excellence rising in Kay Motsepe Cup

Matome Lebea

Matome Lebea

The Kay Motsepe Cup moves into a higher gear as three provinces head for their provincial championships tomorrow.

In Gauteng , the Safa-Transnet Football School of Excellence looks set to dominate the provincial championship, as schools campaign for the number one spot at Central ground in Mamelodi.

Excellence secured their place at the provincial championship after their 4-0 stroll over the hapless Lingutshudu High last week.

It should be remembered that Excellence was once a powerhouse, producing good players who went on to become household names on the local and international scene.

The players include the likes of Steven Pienaar, Shaun Potgieter and Zitha Mofokeng.

But it will not be smooth sailing for Excellence, as they have to get past the tough Meadowlands High, Rosina Sedibane, Thuto Lore, Tlakula High, Itirele Zenzele and the winner between Mondeor High and PH Moraka.

Mondeor and Moraka meet today in a potentially intriguing clash at Hillview High in Pretoria.

In Limpopo, Mosterloos Stadium near Grobblersdal will come alive when it hosts the Limpopo programme as Hudson Nsanwisi look set to be crowned the provincial champions, taking into account their history in national schools tournaments since 1994 .

Joining the fray will be Mokopane Academy, Tlakale High from GaMashashane, Wisdom High from Thohoyandou and the local school, Tshikanoshi High, who will be hoping to make the most of home ground advantage.

PTA grounds in Mafikeng is the last venue that will see the future stars in action, this time for North West.

Gunning for a place in the national playoffs will be Rustenburg High, Thuto Kitso from Fochville, Bopaganang from Vryburg, Michael Modisakeng from Rustenburg and Kebaletele from Mafikeng.

The three provincial winners will join Sozama from Mpumalanga, Cloetesville from Western Cape, SA van Wyk from Northern Cape and Harmony from Free State in the national playoffs.

Eastern Cape will hold their provincial event on June 21 and KwaZulu-Natal decide theirs seven days later.

The national finals will be played from July 9 to 12 in Mamelodi.