KZN sidelines Mbeki supporters

Canaan Mdletshe

Canaan Mdletshe

ANC branches in KwaZulu-Natal have sidelined all the leaders believed to be supporters of President Thabo Mbeki before the Polokwane conference last December.

The branches released nomination lists of those they want to lead the party ahead of provincial general congress next month.

The lists, including that of the most powerful eThekwini branch, are 100percent dominated by the Jacob Zuma camp.

Most branches at the weekend opted for current MEC for finance and economic affairs Zweli Mkhize as chairman, Siyabonga Cwele as deputy, Senzo Mchunu as secretary-general, Sihle Zikalala as deputy secretary-general and Makhosi Khoza as treasurer.

The lists exclude some key leaders, including MECs who were seen to be in the Mbeki camp. The lists now confirms that Mkhize is earmarked to take over as premier.

Excluded on the list is current chairman and premier, Sbu Ndebele, who also made it public that he will not be available for re-election.

Others include Mtholephi Mthimkhulu, MEC for agriculture and Weziwe Thusi, MEC for arts, culture and tourism.