Scientist is overall winner

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Budding scientist Stuart Ntlathi is the overall winner of the 2007 Old Mutual, SABC and Sowetan Community Builder of the Year Award.

Ntlathi established the Stuart Ntlathi Science and Engineering Institute at Matlosana in Klerksdorp, North West, almost eight years ago.

Ntlathi also topped the award's youth category and his runners-up were:

l Senior section victor is Maria Manoto from Emthonjeni Awareness Centre in Gauteng;

l Adult category winner Noriah Mabunda from Ndengeza Xizambhani Community in Limpopo.

l And, group category winner Motsilu Boima from Kopanong Community Project, also in Limpopo.