Re-elected ASA chief confident

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Leonard Chuene, who retained his position as president of Athletics South Africa (ASA), says his new executive committee has pledged to ensure the success of the association and athletes at the coming Beijing Olympics.

"It is our mandate to ensure that our athletes succeed in Beijing," Chuene said yesterday. "We will continue to rally round them."

Chuene will lead ASA for the next four years. He was elected unopposed at the body's quadrennial general meeting in Johannesburg on Sunday.

He said: "We are focusing on the Olympics and want to give our athletes all the necessary support in their preparations for Beijing.

"We will also be in Beijing to encourage them. I have no doubt they will hold their own against the world's best.

"I also have confidence in our executive committee. It is encouraging that everyone wants to see us succeed in the Olympics.

"We will send a team to Ethiopia to compete in the African Senior Championships as part of our preparations for the Olympics."

The athletes will also use the event to qualify for the Olympics in August.

The ASA will also send the athletes to a training camp in Germany in June and July.

A series of training camps will also be held in South Africa when they return from Germany.

The ASA will hand the Olympic team over to the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee on July 10.

The new ASA board is made up of the following people:

Chuene (president); Kakata Maponyane (deputy president); Chris Britz (track and field); Thomas Manoko (road running); Snowy Matthews (cross-country), Hendrick Mokganyetsi (athletes) and Roger Adams (Sassu).

Additional members: Laraine Lane, Godfrey Hammers, Lilly Motete and Simon Dlamini.

Track and field commission: Britz (chairman), Lungisile Molwana, Esther Malema, Magda Botha, William Dithuge.

Road running commission: Manoko (chairman), Rishi Hansrajh, Michael Mbambani, Aleck Skhosana, Nandi Mokhele.

Cross-country commission: Matthews (chairman), Andre Gobey, Blanche Moila, Adam Motlagale, Ben Oliver.

Athletes commission: Mokganyetsi (chairman), Arnaud Malherbe, Mbulaheni Mulaudzi, Ruben Ramolefi and Tebogo Masehla.