teachers shine

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

South Africa's latest three maths, physical science and technology champions were honoured at Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg, at the weekend.

Deputy Education Minister Enver Surty led dignitaries, who included provincial education MECS, departmental heads and business and community leaders, in recognising, acknowledging and rewarding the selflessness, creativity and inventiveness of the three recipients.

They were Thanjamah Pillay of KwaZulu-Natal, Paul Wilton of Western Cape and Johan Posthumus of North West.

Pillay, Wilton and Posthumus are the 2007 winners of the Aggrey Klaaste Maths, Science and Technology Educator of the Year Awards.

The awards are sponsored and organised by Sowetan, Telkom Foundation and the national and provincial education departments.

Education Minister Naledi Pandor is the chief patron of the awards and all the education MECs its provincial hosts and patrons.

Sowetan has made this illustrious teacher development programme an integral part of the Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building Foundation.

Surty, in lauding the three teachers, highlighted the importance of strategic, nationbuilding public-private partnerships.

The awards are named after late Sowetan editor-in-chief Aggrey Klaaste, who initiated the concept of the newspaper's corporate social investment and responsibility programme.

Senior provincial education department officials, assisted by specialists, serve as provincial coordinators of the awards.

They are Northern Cape's Conrad Starr, Western Cape's Gavin de Bruyn, North West's Virginia Leketi, Mpumalanga's Myra Dunley-Owen, Free State's Makhetha Botsane, Limpopo's Rapule Matsane, Gauteng's Themba Nkabinde, KwaZuluNatal's Sipho Ntuli and Eastern Cape's Pumzile Mashalaba.

l A minute's silence was observed for Telkom Foundation chief executive Nkhetheleng Vokwana, who passed away recently.