Awards inspire teachers to strive for excellence

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Named in honour of the late Sowetan editor-in-chief Aggrey Klaaste, these Telkom Foundation and Sowetan-sponsored and organised awards are part of the Nation Building Foundation.

Education Minister Naledi Pandor is the patron of the awards and the nine provincial education departments's senior maths, science and technology education and training officers serve as provincial coordinators.

Finalists, who are chosen through provincial eliminations, must:

l Demonstrate a love for maths, science or technology;

l Show a willingness to explore new ideas to improve teaching in these subjects;

l Encourage pupils to become independent, analytical and critical thinkers;

l Instil in pupils a love for these subjects;

l Boast a track record of producing good results;

l Lead by example and have a reputation as respected members of their communities;

l Work in communities and strive to enhance the public understanding and appreciation of these subjects;

l Encourage pupils to discover and explore maths, science or technology projects; and

l Participate in professional associations that help improve the academic and practical experience of the members.